THE GATHERING: Downfall The Early Years CD BONUS MPEG VIDEO (53:55) Paradise Lost ˜Gothic but more melodic Check samples


In stock


THE GATHERING: Downfall The Early Years CD and cd rom BONUS MPEG VIDEO DISC (53:55) £3
All tracks, although originating from different sources, have been fully remastered. This material features The Gathering’s original vocalist, Bart, and showcases the band’s Death Metal roots. As an added bonus, the first 5,000 copies pressed include a second disc (CD-Rom) which will not be available seperately and will not be re-pressed later.
Tracks 1-3 taken from an unreleased 7″” Recorded at Beaufort Studios
Tracks 4-8 taken from the “”Moonlight Archer”” demo
Tracks 9-13 taken from the “”An Imaginary Symphony”” demo
Tracks 4-13 recorded in the rehearsal room

1: Live at Willem II, Den Bosch, 1991 (53:55)

Bart Smits – vocals
Frank Boeijen – keaboards
Jelmer Wiersma – guitar
Ren̩ Rutten Рguitar
Hugo Prinsen Geerligs – bass
Hans Rutten – drums


1. In Sickness and Health 07:26
2. Gaya’s Dream 06:23
3. Always… 02:30
4. Subzero 06:21
5. Anthology in Black 03:48
6. Second Sunrise 06:50
7. Downfall 06:03
8. In Sickness and Health 06:45
9. Second Sunrise 06:50
10. Six Dead, Three to Go 04:04
11. Downfall 05:21
12. Another Day 03:14
13. Share the Wisdom 04:14
Total playing time 01:09:47
2 punch holes in barcode, 2 in the back pages of the booklet.
Although The Gathering later achieved worldwide fame with their female vocalist Anneke van Giersbegen. The early line-up when they were still doom-death had made its impact as well on the scene.

The period 1991-1992 was the period when grunter Bart Smits was still in the band. Yes, the Gathering used to have grunts in their early days and in a way resembled Paradise Lost on their ‘Gothicâ album but were far more melodic. Their style back then was nicknamed ‘Efteling Metalâ by fans and mags because The Gathering was one of the first doom metal bands with grunts that dared to use keyboards, fantasy melodies and other long instrumental passages.

The “”An Imaginary Symphony”” demo (which was called a rehearsal tape back then, not a demo) was still rather sloppy with a bad sound and didnât show their full potential. Their demo “”Moonlight Archer”” however was the release that got them a record deal and underground fame. This demo is the highlight of this CD. The addition of the previously unreleased single is a nice touch and I for one think this was never released back in those days because of the production, which was rather thin.

Last but not least we have a disc with an entire concert in Den Bosch in 1991. The quality is not that great since it was ripped directly from an old videotape but the fact that I can see myself standing in front during the whole gig, gives this MPEG video a personal touch and Iâm obviously glad I bought it.

If you like their first album ‘Alwaysâ and you donât have any older stuff, you really should get this release. If you only have your old dusted tapes, hereâs the chance to get these recordings digital and with slightly approved sound”

Additional information

Weight 0.13 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “THE GATHERING: Downfall The Early Years CD BONUS MPEG VIDEO (53:55) Paradise Lost ˜Gothic but more melodic Check samples”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *