YES: Fragile LP Gatefold 1971 UK. Near mint cover, G – VG vinyl. Incl. the classic “Roundabout”. Check video


In stock

SKU: YP-2656 Categories: , , , ,


Yes Fragile
Label: Atlantic
Catalog#: K 50009 YES: Fragile LP
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album.
Country: UK
Released: Dec 1971
Genre: Rock – Hard Rock
Style: Prog Rock

Near mint cover (visual inspection), VG vinyl (visual inspection)

AUDIO REVIEW of this LP or

A1 Roundabout 8:29
A2 Cans And Brahms (Extracts from Brahms’ 4th Symphony in E Minor, Third Movement)” (Johannes Brahms, arranged by Rick Wakeman) 1:38
A3 We Have Heaven 1:30
A4 South Side Of The Sky 8:04

B1 Five Per Cent For Nothing 0:35
B2 Long Distance Runaround 3:33
B3 The Fish 2:35
B4 Mood For A Day 2:57
B5 Heart Of The Sunrise 10:34

  • Matrix / Runout (A-side runout stamped): K 50009 A2
  • Matrix / Runout (B-side runout stamped): K 50009 B2
  • Matrix / Runout (A-side label): K 50009 A ✱
  • Matrix / Runout (B-side label): K 50009 B ✱
  • Matrix / Runout (A-side runout stamped): K 50009 A3
  • Matrix / Runout (B-side runout stamped): K 50009 B2

Five tracks of this album are the individual ideas, personally arranged and organised, by the five members of the Band. “Cans And Brahms” is an adaptation by Rick Wakeman on which he plays electric piano taking the part of the strings, grand piano taking the part of the woodwind, organ taking the brass, electric harpsichord taking reeds, and synthesizer taking contra bassoon. “We Have Heaven” is a personal idea by Jon Anderson in which he sings all the vocal parts. “Five Per Cent For Nothing” is a sixteen bar tune by Bill Bruford, played twice by the Group, and taken directly from the percussion line. In Chris Squires “The Fish”, each riff, rhythm, and melody is produced by using the different sounds of the bass guitar. Steve Howe concludes with a solo guitar piece “Mood For A Day”
The remaining tracks on the album are Group arranged and performed.

Jon Anderson – Vocals
Bill Bruford – Drums, Percussion
Steve Howe – Electric and Acoustic Guitars, Vocals
Chris Squire – Bass Guitars, Vocals
Rick Wakeman – Organ, Grand Piano (Electric Piano and Harpsichord), Mellotron, Synthesizer

All titles, except Cans And Brahms, published by Yessongs
Sleeve drawings and photograpy by Roger Dean (colour photograph of Bill Bruford on drums by David Wright)
Bank loan arranged by Brian Lane
Recorded at Advision Studios, London, September 1971

Fragile is the fourth album by the British progressive rock band Yes, released on Atlantic Records. It was the bands first album with keyboardist Rick Wakeman after the departure of Tony Kaye, and the first to feature cover art by Roger Dean. Fragile was issued in the UK in November 1971, but was held back in North America for two months because of the chart momentum of The Yes Album. It peaked at number 4 on the Billboard 200 during a stay of 46 weeks, and reached number 7 in the UK album chart.

Work on the material began while Kaye was still in the band. In a 2006 interview, he said, “I did rehearse Fragile before I left. I left in the middle.” Four of the nine tracks feature full performances by the new line-up with Wakeman, three of which were of eight minutes length or longer. Its best known track, “Roundabout”, was released in the United States in an edited 3:27 version as a single and peaked at number 13 on the Billboard Pop Singles chart in April 1972. Rick Wakeman contributed to the writing of “South Side of the Sky” and “Heart of the Sunrise” by adding piano interludes to both songs, but wasn’t credited because of contractual conflicts. He was instead promised more money by Atlantic studio executives, which he claims he never saw.
The remaining five tracks showcase the band members’ individual talents. “Cans and Brahms” is an arrangement by Wakeman of the third movement from the Fourth Symphony in E minor by Johannes Brahms, his utilization of synthesizers adapted to classical works in vogue at the time, evidenced in efforts by Wendy Carlos. “We Have Heaven” is by Jon Anderson in which he sings all the vocal parts, a technique later used on his solo album Olias of Sunhillow. The initial, overlapping lyric is “Tell the Moon Dog, Tell the March Hare”. Bill Brufords “Five Per Cent for Nothing” derives its instrumental passages from the rhythm line, while “The Fish” and “Mood for a Day” serve almost entirely as bass and guitar solo pieces for Chris Squire and Steve Howe, respectively.
It has drawn comparison to Emerson, Lake & Palmer’s Tarkus in that it consists of a series of semi-solo pieces and long epics concerning the whole band, but in both albums critics have complained that “the long pieces and short pieces never cohere, and the album becomes something of a jumble (Tony Gifford, Endless Enigma).”

Recording technology and production methods:
Recorded in September 1971 at Advision Studios in London, the album is an analog multi-track production. Standard multi-track methods were employed, such as overdubbing, including a flipping of the master tape to record the backwards piano, cued by Howes guitar, for the beginning of “Roundabout.”

The cover design by Roger Dean depicts a tiny planet on the front. On the back, the planet has begun to break up and the population is escaping in a wooden space glider – a concept that was to inspire Anderson’s Olias of Sunhillow, as well as the film Floating Islands. The artwork of Yes songs would continue the narrative.

Additional information

Weight 0.5 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “YES: Fragile LP Gatefold 1971 UK. Near mint cover, G – VG vinyl. Incl. the classic “Roundabout”. Check video”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *