WINGER: s.t, 1st, debut 1988 album SIGNED Autographed by Kip Winger [tape cassette] Check videos for “Madalaine”, “Hungry”, Seventeen”, “Headed For A Heartbreak”


In stock

SKU: YP-7571 Categories: , , , , ,


Winger is an American glam metal band formed in New York City that gained popularity during the late 1980s and early 1990s. The band two platinum albums, Winger and In the Heart of the Young, along with charting singles “”Seventeen””, “”Headed for a Heartbreak””, and “”Miles Away””, put the band on the top of the charts by 1990.

The debut album, Winger, was released on August 10, 1988 on Atlantic Records. The record was a success, achieving platinum status in the United States, and gold status in Japan and Canada. Radio and MTV hits from the album included “”Madalaine””, “”Seventeen””, “”Headed for a Heartbreak””, and “”Hungry””. In 1990, the band was nominated for an American Music Award for “”Best New Heavy Metal Band””.

Label: Atlantic ‎– 781 867-4
Format: Cassette, Album
Country: Europe (Germany)
Released: 1988
Genre: Rock, Hard Rock, Glam, Arena Rock

Track Listings
1. Madalaine
2. Hungry
3. Seventeen
4. Without The Night
5. Purple Haze
6. State of Emergency
7. Time To Surrender
8. Poison Angel
9. Hangin On
10. Headed for a Heartbreak
11. Higher & Higher

AUDIO COMMENTARY (description of what the album sounds like):   or    

5.0 out of 5 stars Good start.,
Winger emerged as another “”hair metal”” band in the late ’80, with one important difference – they were superb musicians. This was their first album, and it pretty good. It easy to miss just how good these guys are – even “”bubblegum rock”” songs like Seventeen are pretty difficult to play right, and the guitar solos are at virtuoso standard. And “”Heading For A Heartbreak”” uses interesting chord inversions throughout (Jazz?) with a tremendous outro solo.


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a brilliant collection of great music,
I have always enjoyed the voice of the lead singer, and the performance of their lead guitarist. The album on it own consists of nicely composed songs with smooth blend to the Metal. This is not common with majority of Rock/Metal music. This album does not miss its rhythm for the sake of enticing extreme ‘ Hard-hitting Heavy Metal’ fans, but still fulfils Rock/Metal requirement with some class. I often see Winger in the same class as the good old “”POLICE””, with the flavour of “”Guns and Roses””. Personally, this album will make a good collection and will always be missed if misplaced. This one came out in the late 80 but still holds its grounds with sound quality and style, to date.”

1988 was a definitive year for two very important entities in the Melodic Hard Rock world; the self-titled debut by WINGER established producer Beau Hill as one of the most brilliant gurus for the genre, and catapulted the band of Kip Winger & Reb Beach to the stardom.

Rather unfairly Winger were lumped into the ’80s hair metal scene. However, it was an easy mistake to make considering Kip Winger’s sexy looks and the band’s penchant for penning memorable and melodic rock of an altogether addictive nature. 
However, beneath the fancy looks was a band of enormous depth, containing members that had already notched up years of experience and played with several demanding and high calibre artists. 
Fronted by Denver native Kip Winger, and signed to industry heavyweight Atlantic Records, the rest of the band consisting of master guitarist Reb Beach (who had worked with Fiona), keyboard player Paul Taylor (previously with Alice Cooper) and former Dixie Dreggs drummer Rod Morgenstein.

Issued in 1988 and produced (and arranged on many parts) by man of the moment Beau Hill, “Winger” caused an immediate stir with it’s seductive blend of rocking – yet melodic – rock suggesting that Winger’s talent was very much in the same realms as Bon Jovi and Foreigner. 
Indeed, such was the excitement surrounding the album that it achieved platinum status soon and made them a fixture on MTV, all helped by their good looks and fully formed songs such as “Madalaine”, “Hungry”, the excellent “Headed For A Heartbreak” (a Top 20 US hit single), the power ballad “Without The Night” and the superhumanly catchy “Seventeen”.

Your Melodic Hard Rock collection is not complete without “Winger”. It’s high quality music with bombast, never-ending hooks and melodies to die for.
The Rock Candy treatment is superb, and you have 3 bonus tracks including “Never” (from Winger’s second album sessions), “Higher And Higher” and a remix of “Headed For A Heartbreak”.
A must of any ’80s Rock collector.

01 – Madalaine
02 – Hungry
03 – Seventeen
04 – Without The Night
05 – Purple Haze
06 – State Of Emergency
07 – Time To Surrender
08 – Poison Angel
09 – Hangin’ On
10 – Headed For A Heartbreak

Kip Winger – vocals, bass, keyboards, string arrangements
Reb Beach – guitars, vocals
Paul Taylor – keyboards, vocals
Rod Morgenstein – drums, vocals
Dweezil Zappa – left side guitar solo on 5
Beau Hill, Ira McLaughlin – backing vocals
Sandra Park, Rebecca Young, Hae Young Ham, Maria Kitsopoulos – strings

Additional information

Weight 0.1 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “WINGER: s.t, 1st, debut 1988 album SIGNED Autographed by Kip Winger [tape cassette] Check videos for “Madalaine”, “Hungry”, Seventeen”, “Headed For A Heartbreak””

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *