Bryan ADAMS: Cuts like a knife LP 1983. Check videos “Straight from the Heart”, “Cuts Like a Knife”, “This Time”, etc..


The following rules are working:

In stock

SKU: YP-7977 Categories: , , , , , Tag:


Cuts Like a Knife is the third studio album by the Canadian rock artist Bryan Adams. Released on 18 January 1983 through A&M Records, the album became a huge commercial success in Canada and the United States
were responsible for launching Adams into mainstream popularity.

“”Straight from the Heart”” is a rock song written by Adams and was released in December 1982 as the first single released from the album, which was released the next month. It is one of Adams’ most recognisable and popular songs. The song peaked at the top ten on the Billboard Hot 100 at 10 and 32 on the Mainstream Rock Tracks chart. The song has appeared on all of Adams’ compilation albums with the exception of The Best of Me.
“”Cuts Like a Knife”” was released in 1983 and became one of the most successful songs from Cuts Like a Knife on the American rock charts and one of Adams most recognisable and popular songs from the 80s.
“”This Time”” is a rock song written by Adams and Vallance and was the third single released from the album. “”This Time”” was Adams first single to chart in Europe. While it charted after being re-released in the United Kingdom.

1. “”The Only One“” Adams, Vallance 3:14

2. “”Take Me Back“” Adams, Vallance 4:49

3. “”This Time“” Adams, Vallance 3:18

4. “”Straight from the Heart”” Adams, Kagna 3:30

about Cuts Like a Knife:

5. “”Cuts Like a Knife“” Adams, Vallance 5:16
6. “”I’m Ready“” Adams, Vallance 3:58

7. “”What It Gonna Be“” Adams, Vallance 3:39

8. “”Don’t Leave Me Lonely”” Adams, Carr, Vallance 3:09
9. “”Let Him Know”” Adams, Vallance 3:09
10. “”The Best Was Yet to Come”” Adams, Vallance 2:56

Bryan Adams – vocals, guitars, piano
Jim Vallance – percussion, electric piano on “”The Best Was Yet to Come””
Mickey Curry – drums
Tommy Mandel – organ, synthesizer
Keith Scott – guitars, vocals
Dave Taylor – bass guitar
Alfa Anderson – background vocals
Lou Gramm of Foreigner – background vocals

Bryan Adams Finally Established His Own Identity With ‘Cuts Like a Knife’

By the time Cuts Like a Knife was released on Jan. 18, 1983, Bryan Adams had spent several years refining his craft. Smitten with rock and roll since elementary school, the Canadian-born singer, songwriter and guitarist started playing in bands, touring and making records as a teenager.

Although Adams chalked up a credible reputation on the live front, his first two albums (Bryan Adams and You Want It, You Got It) failed to ignite much fanfare. But all that changed with his third outing.

Aside from featuring an avalanche of wildly catchy tunes, Cuts Like a Knife is also the record where Bryan Adams found and established his own recognizable style and identity. Sealed tight with heaps of huge hooks and communal choruses normally reserved for sporting events, Cuts Like a Knife fastened pop elements to a hard-rocking essence with poise and presence.

Bryan’s raspy, sandpaper vocals, which often recall a pleasant pairing of Rod Stewart and John Mellencamp, are an ideal match for the mode of music he performs. His sturdy lungs fill the room, cordially encouraging listeners to sing along with his infectious tunes.

Among the delights included on Cuts Like a Knife are the title track, “This Time,” “What’s It Gonna Be” and “The Only One.” Torched by a bluesy lick, “Take Me Back” stands as another memorable number, while “Straight From the Heart” is a convincingly impassioned power ballad. Robust arrangements, crowned with stabbing melodies and guitars that squeal and shimmer additionally benefit the material and delivery of the songs on the disc.

Arriving at a moment when new wave and synthesizer-soaked pop fluff monopolized the charts, Bryan Adams’ Cuts Like a Knife offers no such sounds. Focusing strictly on gimmick-free hard edged pop rock, the album proved there will always be an audience for real music recorded by real people. And while the production is of its era, meaning it’s clean and glossy, it doesn’t stifle or smother the spirited talent behind the songs.

6 Things You Might Not Know About Bryan Adams Classic Album ‘Cuts Like A Knife’

Bryan Adams is arguably Canadian Rock’s biggest global superstar. He has sold-out the world’s largest arenas and is one of Canada’s top-selling artists of all-time. Many of us have grown up with his music, from his early days as the squeaky-voiced singer for Sweeney Todd to his massive global success with Waking Up The Neighbors. But the album that really helped launch BA into the musical stratosphere was his 1983 classic Cuts Like A Knife. Here are six things you might not know about one of our favourite Canadian albums ever.

    1. Cuts Like A Knife was recorded during the fall of 1982 at Vancouver’s historic Little Mountain Sound Studios. Aerosmith, Bon Jovi and Motley Crue are a few of the other bands who recorded at Little Mountain during this era.
    2. The song “Cuts Like a Knife” was Adams’ first top 20 hit on the Canadian singles chart and remained in the top 20 for six weeks!
    3. Adams returned home to Vancouver to play on his Cuts Like A Knife Tour. Over 30,000 fans greeted him at BC Place and it was one of the first big concerts in the state-of-the-art dome that had been completed earlier in the year.
    4. Bryan’s longtime manager, the bombastic Bruce Allen, actually sang backing vocals on “Cuts Like A Knife”.
    5. Foreigner’s lead singer Lou Gramm also lent his voice to the album, appearing on all but three tracks.
    6. The catchy chorus for “Cuts Like A Knife” came about when Bryan was playing the guitar and singing “it cuts like a knife” over and over again. His long-time collaborator Jim Vallance started chiming in with “but it feels so right” and the rest is CanCon history.

Additional information

Weight 0.25 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Bryan ADAMS: Cuts like a knife LP 1983. Check videos “Straight from the Heart”, “Cuts Like a Knife”, “This Time”, etc..”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Bryan ADAMS: Cuts like a knife LP. Check videos
You're viewing: Bryan ADAMS: Cuts like a knife LP 1983. Check videos “Straight from the Heart”, “Cuts Like a Knife”, “This Time”, etc..  9.57
Add to basket