ACCEPT: Restless n Wild LP [Picture disc album. All songs are truly excellent] Check videos


In stock


ACCEPT: Restless & Wild [Picture disc album. All songs are truly excellent

Restless And Wild, Ahead Of The Pack, Shake Your Heads, Neon Nights, Get Ready, Demon Night, Flash Rockin’ Man, Don’t Go Stealing My Soul Away, Princess Of The Dawn. “Heidiheidoeida” – who doesn’t know this cult beginning, where after a scratch a scream and then speed hell breaks loose? “Fast As A Shark”, is one of the most important Metal cult songs ever. Mega hymns like “Princess Of The Dawn”


“Heidiheidoeida” who doesn’t know this cult beginning, where after a scratch a scream and then speed hell breaks loose? “Fast As A Shark”, is one of the most important Metal cult songs ever. Mega hymns like “Princess Of The Dawn” you only write once in a lifetime. “Shake Your Heads”, “Neon Nights” or “Demons Night”, all immortal classics. Essential….

The album kicks off with one of the all-time greatest intros. If you haven’t heard it I wont ruin it for you, but I’m guessing the intro surprised more than a few fans who put their needle on this vinyl for the first time in 82 or 83.
The highlight of this album is, of course, the ferocious Fast As A Shark. This balls-out speed monster is a neck-snapping jack hammer of righteous metal awesomeness. In case your neck is still intact after Fast As A Shark, the album also includes one of my favorite fist-pounding anthems, Shake Your Heads. Another cool track (with a gnarly intro) is Neon Nights. Restless And Wild just goes to show that you should never doubt a heavy metal band with a troll for a singer; even if said troll is wearing a tight camouflage shirt with bright suspenders.


Band members

  • Udo Dirkschneider – vocals
  • Wolf Hoffmann – guitars
  • Herman Frank – guitars (credited, but didn’t actually perform)
  • Peter Baltes – bass
  • Stefan Kaufmann – drums
  • Restless and Wild is the fourth studio album by German heavy metal band Accept, released in 1982 in Continental Europe and in 1983 in the US and UK. It was the first Accept album to not be recorded at Delta-Studio, the band moving to Dieter Dierks’ studio in Stommeln. It is also the first Accept album in which Udo Dirkschneider sings every track, as well as the first in which manager Gaby Hauke (“Deaffy”) gains credits for songwriting. Michael Wagener took engineering and mixing duties once again.Album information:
    Jan Koemmet joined the band briefly before the release of this album, but did not participate in the recording. The guitar on the finished product is done by Wolf Hoffmann alone, although Herman Frank had joined the band by the time the album was released, and is credited on the album cover.
    The album is best known for the opening track, “Fast as a Shark”, considered among the fastest speed metal songs for the time.
    Another well-known track is album closer “Princess of the Dawn”, a tense song that Udo describes as “a Cinderella story” and “like a Lord of the Rings fantasy” with no deep meaning.Wolf Hoffmann achieved the haunting mandolin-like effect by recording the guitar at half-speed, then having it played back at normal speed.He describes the sudden ending as “an idea that didn’t work so well.”
    Versions of the album released outside Germany were issued with a different cover, replacing the picture of burning guitars with a shot of the band live in concert.Reception
    Restless and Wild has received mostly positive reviews. Eduardo Rivadavia of AllMusic praised Restless and Wild with 4.5 out of 5 stars and called it Accept’s “creative breakthrough.” He then added, “The bottom line here is that this, like its successor Balls to the Wall, is an essential heavy metal album, and any fan worth his salt should own them both.”
    Restless and Wild was Accept’s first album to chart in the UK, Sweden and the Netherlands.
    Udo has agreed with the general assessment of Restless and Wild as a landmark heavy metal record, calling it “surely the most important Accept album”. Wolf’s take: “looking back maybe we think ‘Fast as a Shark’ was the first speed metal song ever, but at the time we sorta just had fun and we didn’t think it was anything dramatically new. Obviously, maybe what was so cool about this time was that we weren’t thinking so much. We were just ballsy and tried to do things without having much to lose”.
  • 1. Fast as a Shark Hoffmann, Kaufmann, Dirkschneider, Baltes 3:49
    2. Restless and Wild Robert A. Smith-Diesel and Accept 4:12
    3. “Ahead Of The Pack” Hoffmann, Kaufmann, Dirkschneider, Baltes 3:24
    4. “Shake Your Heads” Hoffmann, Kaufmann, Dirkschneider, Baltes 4:17
    5. “Neon Nights” Deaffy, Smith-Diesel and Accept 6:01
    6. “Get Ready” Smith-Diesel and Accept 3:41
    7. “Demon’s Night” Hoffmann, Kaufmann, Dirkschneider, Baltes 4:27
    8. “Flash Rockin’ Man” Hoffmann, Kaufmann, Dirkschneider, Baltes 4:28
    9. “Don’t Go Stealing My Soul Away” Smith-Diesel and Accept 3:15
    10. “Princess Of The Dawn” Deaffy, Smith-Diesel and Accept 6:15