THUNDER RIDER: Tales of Darkness and Light Chapter II CD. With extra stickers+ plectrum. Omen, Manilla Road!!!


The following rules are working:

In stock

SKU: YP-799 Categories: , , , Tag:


Thunder Rider ? Tales Of Darkness And Light – Chapter II
Label: Not On Label (Thunder Rider Self-released) ? TRP-CD-002
Format: CD, Album
Country: Canada
Released: 2002
Genre: Heavy Metal
1 Thy Kingdom Come 3:13
2 New Born 3:01
3 Death Angel 3:42
4 Final Eclipse 4:40
5 Mid Evil 2:24
6 Holy Terror 4:48
7 Lucky Devil 7:36
8 Child´s Prayer 4:41
9 Satans Wrath 2:59
10 Heavy Metal Wizzard 3:22
11 Evil Slayer 3:02
12 Interlude In D-Minor
13 Dark Castle
14 Day Of The Damned
15 Devil´s Playground
including sticker, “tattoo” and guitar pick
Barcode: 629048060021

Check samples:…

Thunder Rider finally present their CD which includes a 24 page full colour, illustrated booklet and a few tokens of appreciation. The lyrics refer to the endless struggle, the battle within, the ongoing conflict between good and evil. They are extremely important to me because, as I mentioned in the previous reply, the lyrics give us direction, the lyrics are the foundation of the song. Thunder Rider do have some rough similarities to Omen or Doomsword with their stripped-down riff style and anthemic songs. They play mostly slow or mid-paced with a doomy edge, though the guitar sound is much more a bare bones Omen style than the sludgy heaviness one associates with Doom Metal. Vocalist John Blackwing has a voice highly reminiscent of Manilla Road (mainly), Mike Scalzi of The Lord Weird Slough Feg, with a touch of Doomswords Deathmaster. He uses a very theatrical, dramatic style and he carries it very well. There aren’t any vocal histrionics going on here, and no operatic wailing, but all these songs are very catchy and beltable, making you want to sing along while you headbang like a retard. There are an astonishing 16 tracks on this thing, clocking in at over an hour and the silly last track aside, this is an awesome disc. They kick off with the booming “Thy Kingdom Come” and never let up. Standouts here include the addictive “Death Angel”, the stomping “Holy Terror”, The sprawling “Heavy Metal Wizzard”, “Evil Slayer” and “Dark Castle”. All the songs in between are very cool too, so its hard to really pick favorites. Every one has great riffs and singable vocal hooks. There are even three instrumentals included: “Final Eclipse”, “Childs Prayer”, and “Interlude In D-Minor” to break up the heavy attack, but they don’t detract from the flow of the CD, but just add to the huge, epic feel of the album. I have rarely seen such a lavish presentation for a CD, especially for a self-release. You get the hour-plus CD, a lavishly illustrated 24-page booklet, a sticker, a temporary tattoo, and a guitar pick. Its over-the-top, but you sure get your moneys worth. Some of the artwork here has to be seen to be believed, as it mostly looks like Dungeons and Dragons artwork from the early 80s. They even included it all in ‘widescreen’ format for your computer so you can have Thunder Rider wallpaper. Refreshingly, this ‘interactive’ content does not prevent you from playing it on a CD-ROM drive. Fans of 80s metal like Omen, Manilla Road, Medieval Steel and Warlord, or more modern proponents of the style like Doomsword, Battleroar, or Slough Feg will eat this up. Its cheesy, and the production could be punchier, but for doomy epic heavy fucking metal, Thunder Rider are going to be hard to beat.

Additional information

Weight 0.1 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “THUNDER RIDER: Tales of Darkness and Light Chapter II CD. With extra stickers+ plectrum. Omen, Manilla Road!!!”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *