The CURE: Disintegration [tape] Check video


Out of stock


Disintegration is the eighth studio album by English alternative rock band The Cure, released on 1 May 1989 by Fiction Records. The record marks a return to the introspective and gloomy gothic rock styles the band had established in the early 1980s. As he neared the age of thirty, vocalist and guitarist Robert Smith felt an increased pressure to follow up on the group pop successes with a more enduring work. This, coupled with a distaste for the group new-found popularity, caused Smith to lapse back into the use of hallucinogenic drugs, the effects of which had a strong influence on the production of the album. The Cure recorded Disintegration at Hook End Manor Studios in Reading, Berkshire, with co-producer David M. Allen in late 1988 through early 1989. During production, founding member Lol Tolhurst was fired from the band.

In spite of record label fears that the album would be “”commercial suicide””, Disintegration became the band commercial peak. It charted at number three in the United Kingdom and at number twelve in the United States, and produced several hit singles including “”Lovesong””, which peaked at number two on the Billboard Hot 100. Disintegration remains The Cure highest selling record to date, with over three million copies sold worldwide. Disintegration was also a critical success, being placed at number 326 on Rolling Stone magazine list of the “”500 Greatest Albums of All Time””. Stephen Thomas Erlewine of Allmusic called it the “”culmination of all the musical directions the Cure were pursuing over the course of the ’80s.””

All songs by Smith, Gallup, O’Donnell, Thompson and Williams.

1. “”Plainsong”” – 5:12
2. “”Pictures of You”” – 7:24
3. “”Closedown”” – 4:16
4. “”Lovesong”” – 3:29
5. “”Last Dance”” – 4:42
6. “”Lullaby”” – 4:08
7. “”Fascination Street”” – 5:16
8. “”Prayers For Rain”” – 6:05
9. “”The Same Deep Water As You”” – 9:19
10. “”Disintegration”” – 8:18
11. “”Homesick”” – 7:06
12. “”Untitled”” – 6:30

* Robert Smith – vocals, guitars, keyboards, 6-string bass, production, engineering
* Simon Gallup – bass guitar, keyboards
* Porl Thompson – guitars
* Boris Williams – drums
* Roger O’Donnell – keyboards

Album Chart Peak positions
UK Albums Chart[21] 3
US Billboard 200[35] 12
Australian ARIA Chart[36] 9
Austrian Albums Chart[37] 5
Canadian RPM Chart[38] 22
Norwegian Albums Chart[39] 7
Swedish Albums Chart[40] 10
Swiss Albums Chart[41] 4

Additional information

Weight 0.1 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The CURE: Disintegration [tape] Check video”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *