Russ BALLARD: Into the Fire solo LP for the hit maker of RAINBOW, SAMSON, SANTANA, KISS. Check samples


In stock

SKU: YP-8390 Categories: , , , , ,


Although relatively low key on the international Rock scene as a solo act, RUSS BALLARD has scored numerous major smash hits with other artists, AMERICA (The Border and You Can Do Magic), RAINBOW (I Surrender and  Since You’ve Been Gone), ROGER DALTREY (Come And Get Your Love and Free Me), GRAHAM BONNET (Liar), ABBA’s Frida, HOT CHOCOLATE, SAMSON, SANTANA and KISS guitarist ACE FREHLEY (New York Groove). A pivotal member of ARGENT from 1970 to 1975, a succession of solo albums followed Russ Ballard entry into solo artist territory.


A1 Rock & Roll Lover 3:31
A2 Breakdown 3:16
A3 Where Do We Go Frome Here 4:09
A4 Guilty 3:30
A5 Don’t Go To Soho 4:29
B1 Tonight 4:02
B2 Madman 5:04
B3 Strangers 3:53
B4 Here Comes The Hurt 3:56
B5 I Will Be There 4:22

lead singer and guitarist of Argent, writing their hit “”God Gave Rock and Roll to You””,which would later be covered by both Petra and Kiss.
In 1972, Ballard performed on Colin Blunstone album Ennismore, also wrote the hit single, “”I Don’t Believe in Miracles””, which featured on that album.
He left Argent in 1973 and pursued a solo and songwriting career. He wrote such hits as Three Dog Night “”Liar””, Hot Chocolate 1977 UK chart topper “”So You Win Again””,] and Rainbow “”Since You Been Gone”” (also featured on Ballard second solo album Winning) and “”I Surrender””. As a solo artist, Ballard charted once on the U.S. Billboard Hot 100 chart, when “”On the Rebound”” reached #58 in 1980.Uriah Heep covered “”On the Rebound”” in 1982 on their album, Abominog.
Ballard also wrote and performed on Roger Daltrey first two solo albums – Daltrey (1973) and Ride a Rock Horse (1975).
British pop band Hello recorded Ballard “”New York Groove”” in 1975, reaching #7 in Germany and #9 in the UK.
Ballard also wrote the #17, 1981 hit for Santana, called “”Winning””, which appeared on their album entitled Zebop! and had previously been released by Ballard himself on his second solo album.
Ballard wrote and produced “”You Can Do Magic”” for the group America. The single climbed to #8 on the Billboard Hot 100 in October 1982, and helped resurrect the band career. The following year, America brought in Ballard to produce their follow-up album, Your Move. One of its tracks, “”The Border””, which was co-written by Ballard with Dewey Bunnell, reached #33 on the Billboard Hot 100.
Borrowing from The Cure Simon Gallup 1981 “”Other Voices”” bass riff,[original research?] Ballard wrote ABBA singer Anni-Frid Lyngstad 1982 solo hit: “”I Know There Something Going On”” (which was produced and featured drums played by Phil Collins). The track reached #13 on the Billboard Hot 100. He also penned “”Can’t Shake Loose”” for fellow ABBA former member, Agnetha Fltskog, which peaked at #29 in the same listings.
His song “”Voices”” – from the album Russ Ballard – was featured on the Miami Vice episode entitled “”Calderone Return: Part 2 – Calderone Demise””, which aired on 26 October 1984. The song was a brief hit on rock radio stations, peaking at #15 on the Hot Mainstream Rock Tracks chart. However, “”Voices”” stalled below the Billboard Hot 100, peaking at #110. The song “”In The Night”” (also from the Russ Ballard album), was also featured in Miami Vice, and included in the episode entitled “”Calderone Return: Part 1 – The Hit List””. The show also featured “”Your Time Is Gonna Come”” by Ballard.
“”The Fire Still Burns””, the title track of his 1985 album attained #15 on the Hot Mainstream Rock Tracks chart.
In 1991 the song he co-wrote with John Waite and Jonathan Cain, “”So This Is Eden””, appeared on Bad English album, Backlash.
Ballard has also written and produced for Elkie Brooks, and more recently, acting as a talent scout, he “”discovered”” Lauren Harris.

Ballard and Kiss:
In addition to Kiss covering “”God Gave Rock and Roll to You””, re-titled as “”God Gave Rock ‘n’ Roll to You II””:
Kiss drummer, Peter Criss, recorded Ballard “”Let Me Rock You”” and “”Some Kinda Hurricane”” on his 1982 Let Me Rock You album.
Kiss guitarist, Ace Frehley, covered “”New York Groove”” on his self-titled solo album in 1978. Frehley version reached #13 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart and has been a regular staple of Kiss live performances, during tours in which Frehley has taken part.
During his non-Kiss years, Frehley also did a cover of the Ballard song “”Into The Night””, for his 1987 Frehley Comet album.

Russ BALLARD: Into the Fire solo LP for the hit maker of RAINBOW, SAMSON, SANTANA, KISS. Check samples

Additional information

Weight 0.5 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Russ BALLARD: Into the Fire solo LP for the hit maker of RAINBOW, SAMSON, SANTANA, KISS. Check samples”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *