RAINBOW: Rising LP Gatefold original vinyl release, gatefold sleeve £0 FREE FOR 12″ vinyl ORDERS OF £40+ Check audio (whole album)


The following rules are working:

Out of stock


Rising (also known as Rainbow Rising) is a hard rock/heavy metal album by Rainbow, released in 1976. With founder Ritchie Blackmore retaining only Ronnie James Dio from the previous album, he recruited keyboard player Tony Carey, bassist Jimmy Bain and drummer Cozy Powell to complete the new line-up. Recorded in Munich in less than a month, the album was overseen by Deep Purple engineer and rock producer Martin Birch.
The album marks Dio first work with bassist Jimmy Bain: Bain would later play bass in Dio solo band.
The album showpiece is the 8 minute and 26 second piece “”Stargazer””, which features the Munich Philharmonic Orchestra.
Few of the album tracks made it into the band live set: “”Stargazer”” and “”Do You Close Your Eyes”” featured in all the 1976 shows, while “”A Light in the Black”” was dropped early in the tour. It was played at least 13 times in 1975-1976. “”Starstruck”” was played at least 16 times on stage – usually as part of “”Man On The Silver Mountain””.
Rising peaked at #48 on Billboard Pop Albums chart. In the UK it would peak at #6. In issue 1 of ‘Kerrang!’ magazine, Rising was voted as the #1 album of all time.
According to the All Music Guide, Rising captured “”Blackmore and Dio at the peak of their creative powers…(it) chronicled both the guitarist neo-classical metal compositions at their most ambitious, and the singer growing fixation with fantasy lyrical theme a blueprint he would adopt for his entire career thereafter””.
The original vinyl release was a gatefold sleeve, with a generic Polydor inner-bag.

Side one
“”Tarot Woman”” – 5:58
“”Run with the Wolf”” – 3:48
“”Starstruck”” – 4:06
“”Do You Close Your Eyes”” – 2:58

Side two
“”Stargazer”” – 8:26
“”A Light in the Black”” – 8:12

All songs written by Ronnie James Dio and Ritchie Blackmore

Ronnie James Dio – vocals
Ritchie Blackmore – guitar
Tony Carey – keyboards
Jimmy Bain – bass
Cozy Powell – drums
Munich Philharmonic Orchestra – Strings, Horn
Fritz Sonnleitner – Concert Master
Rainer Pietsch – Conductor

RAINBOW: Rising [Gateforld] LP original vinyl release was a gatefold sleeve £0 FREE FOR ORDERS OF £40

Additional information

Weight 0.25 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “RAINBOW: Rising LP Gatefold original vinyl release, gatefold sleeve £0 FREE FOR 12″ vinyl ORDERS OF £40+ Check audio (whole album)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *