NONE MORE BLACK: This is Satire CD Fat Wreck Chords punk rock. Check audio + video


The following rules are working:

In stock

SKU: YP-6220 Categories: , , , Tag:


NONE MORE BLACK: This is Satire
From the get-go, you can just tell what to expect from this album. The opener “”We Dance on the Ruins…”” is a tight, poppy number, complete with “”hey hey”” backups, a half-time bridge, and a fading repeating pseudo-sing-along. Interestingly, the instrumental fade takes a good minute before ending, something NMB isn’t really known for.
The next few tracks are traditional NMB mid-tempo pop-punk standards, “”With the Transit Coat On”” continuing the upbeat “”hey hey”” in the background. “”Opinions and Assholes”” serves as a break from the straight-up pop, as Jason’s voice definitely leans towards a more aggressive tone, spouting “”I’d like to spit it right at your face”” before kicking back into the chorus. Following is the completely out of place, almost instrumental, super slow “”I See London”” that carries on for nearly four minutes. I can only imagine this serving as some type of intermission for the album.
“”Who Crosses State Lines…”” has a slight country-tinged sound, somewhat reminiscent of the `90s band the Refreshments (remember them?). The remainder of the album carries on as before, peppy punk tunes with Jason’s trademark growl, highlighted by the fun number “”You Suck, But Your Peanut Butter Is OK.”” I wasn’t expecting the closing tune “”Majestic,”” which is a true last song: slow, drawn out, building musically, ending dissonant.
None More Black have certainly found a sound that they feel works best for them, as the similarity between most of the songs attests. A solid effort by a band that will surely garner new fans with their seemingly decided approach to songwriting.

Track List:

  1. “We Dance on the Ruins of the Stupid Stage” – 3:32
  2. “Under My Feet” – 2:24
  3. “My Wallpaper Looks Like Paint” – 2:14
  4. “Zing-Pong” – 2:52
  5. “With the Transit Coat On” – 2:22
  6. “Opinions & Assholes” – 1:47
  7. “I See London” – 3:58
  8. “Who Crosses State Lines Without a Shirt?” – 2:25
  9. “D Is for Doorman (Come on In)” – 4:08
  10. “10 Ton Jiggawatts” – 2:42
  11. “You Suck! But Your Peanut Butter Is OK” – 1:40
  12. “Yo, It’s Not Rerun” – 2:10
  13. “Majestic” – 3:45
Length 33:19

The inspiration for the track “You Suck! But Your Peanut Butter is OK” comes from an incident songwriter Jason Shevchuk comments on in an interview:

It’s the only specific case on the record, only thing that is actually about a certain situation. We were on tour with Against Me!, it was right after their Fat debut had come out. And for some crazy reasons, they were getting a lot of shit for signing to Fat. A lot of their diehard fans were really giving them shit because of it. Anyone who had anything to say to them, they would welcome them with their open arms, they would invite them to backstage. And one night in Pittsburgh, these kids approached the band with all these insults about the direction of the band while eating the band’s food and drinking their beer! And that’s where the title came from, these guys eating a peanut butter sandwich, like “You guys are terrible, but I’ll eat your food, I’ll eat what you’ve been rewarded as a touring band”. The song is not about Against Me! in particular, it’s about a certain person who treated them with disrespect.

The title “We Dance on the Ruins of the Stupid Stage” is taken from a line in the film Mallrats.

The album’s name is possibly referencing the Spinal Tap album, This Is Spinal Tap. This would not be the first time the band has been influenced by Spinal Tap, as their name is taken from their famous self-proclaimed slogan. It could also be a reference to the Propagandhi song “This Might Be Satire” from their album How To Clean Everything.

None More Black is a New Jersey-based punk rock outfit on Fat Wreck Chords, formed by lead singer/guitarist Jason Shevchuk after the demise of his previous band, Philadelphia‘s Kid Dynamite. Jason left Kid Dynamite so that he could finish film school, and “to sort some things out.” While at school, Jason had written some songs and would play them with his roommate Dan Gross and a drum machine. By 2000, they had a second guitarist and a real drummer. That lineup soon fell apart, but by 2001 Jason and Dan had recruited Jason’s brother Jeff, along with a new drummer. After recording a 7″ for Sub Division Records, that lineup fell apart, this time leaving only Jeff and Jason. In 2002 (after a few more lineup changes) a solid lineup was established, featuring Paul from Kill Your Idols on bass. A demo was recorded, circulated, and the band went on to release their first full length on Fat Wreck Chords

Their name originates from a line in mockumentary movie This Is Spin̈al Tap. Several of the band’s song titles are references to jokes from the television show Seinfeld.

In January 2007 the band announced that they were going on a “hiatus” and that they would play shows every now and again. On May 19, 2008, the band announced on their MySpace page that they will be playing a free “reunion” show at the Deep Sleep photo gallery in Philadelphia, PA on July 4, 2008. Jason Shevchuk was working on a project called LaGrecia, which has since split. Colin McGinniss and Paul Delaney’s outfit Ram & Ox has also called it quits. Jared Shavelson now plays drums in the hardcore band Paint It Black. Paul Delaney also currently fronts black metal/thrash act Black Anvil. 

On July 7, 2008 the band announced on their Myspace blog that they have decided to re-form and will be recording a new album. 

The band has released three full-lengths and two EPs. Their most recent album, titled “Icons”, was released on October 26, 2010 by Fat Wreck Chords.

Additional information

Weight 0.1 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “NONE MORE BLACK: This is Satire CD Fat Wreck Chords punk rock. Check audio + video”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *