Michael BOLTON: Time Love & Tenderness LP 1991. Check videos “Love is a Wonderful Thing”, “Steel Bars”, “When a Man Loves a Woman”.


The following rules are working:

In stock

SKU: YP-8271 Categories: , , , , Tag:


Time, Love & Tenderness is the seventh studio album by American recording artist Michael Bolton. The album was released in April 1991 by Columbia Records; it was produced by Walter Afanasieff and Michael Bolton. The album topped the Billboard 200 chart and produced four Top 40 singles: a cover of Percy Sledge “”When a Man Loves a Woman reached #1 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart, “”Love Is a Wonderful Thing”” reached #4, “”Time, Love and Tenderness”” reached #7, and “”Missing You Now”” reached #12. In the UK a fifth single was released, “”Steel Bars””, which made the top 20. It is also notable that this is the only album from his “”hit period”” that is “”out of print””.
After reaching the top spot the album enjoyed a steady stay on the charts, eventually selling over 8 million copies in the US only. The album was supported by various hit singles which topped the charts worldwide. Worldwide the album has sold approximately 16 million copies and is his best selling album to date.

1. “”Love is a Wonderful Thing”” Michael Bolton, Andrew Goldmark 4:43
2. “”Time, Love and Tenderness”” Diane Warren 5:31
3. “”Missing You Now”” (featuring Kenny G) Walter Afanasieff, Warren, Bolton 4:33
4. “”Forever Isn’t Long Enough”” Bolton, Desmond Child, Warren 4:32
5. “”Now That I Found You”” Bolton, Warren 4:32
6. “”When a Man Loves a Woman”” Calvin Lewis, Andrew Wright 3:52
7. “”We’re Not Makin’ Love Anymore”” Bolton, Warren 4:41
8. “”New Love”” Bolton, Child, Warren 4:32
9. “”Save Me”” Bolton, Child, Warren 4:21
10. “”Steel Bars”” Bolton, Bob Dylan 3:28

Walter Afanasieff – Drum Programming, Synthesized Bass, Keyboards, Synthesizers, Hammond Organ, Percussion, Horn Arrangements
Chris Camozzi, Michael Landau, Michael Thompson – Guitars
Randy Jackson – Bass
Kenny G. – Sax
John Beasley – Piano
Jerry Hey, Gary Grant, Dan Higgins, Larry Williams – Horns
Jeff Porcaro – Drums
Kitty Beethoven, Larry Batiste, Desmond Child, Laura Creamer, Sandy Griffith, Chris Hawkins, Skyler Jett, Melisa Kary, Patti LaBelle, Jean McClain, Jeanie Tracy, Joe Lynn Turner, Myriam Naomi Valle, Tim White – Backing Vocals

In 1964, the American R&B group The Isley Brothers recorded a song titled “”Love Is a Wonderful Thing””. Not included on an Isley Brothers album until years later, the song was released as a single in 1966 on a 45rpm vinyl record, and it “”bubbled under”” on the Billboard chart, meaning that it peaked between #101 and #125 on the Hot 100. Bolton song contained similarities to the song by the Isleys that exceeded the title: in 1994, a jury found songwriters Bolton and Goldmark, along with Sony Music Entertainment (the parent company of Bolton label, Columbia Records), liable for copyright infringement due to multiple similarities between the two songs and ordered them to pay the Isleys all profits earned from the single plus 28% of the album profits, which amounted to over $5 million (U.S.). On May 9, 2000, the 9th Circuit Court of Appeals, an appellate court covering the western regions of the U.S., affirmed the jury decision, which is one of the largest monetary sums to be awarded in a case such as this. On January 22, 2001, the Supreme Court of the United States declined to review the decision of the appellate court despite Bolton claims that he had never heard the Isley Brothers recording (although he was a fan of their music) and that he was exercising his right to “”independent creation””. The decision by the Supreme Court not to hear the case resulted in the original verdict remaining valid.

1991 Billboard 200 1
1991 UK Albums Chart 2

Additional information

Weight 0.25 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Michael BOLTON: Time Love & Tenderness LP 1991. Check videos “Love is a Wonderful Thing”, “Steel Bars”, “When a Man Loves a Woman”.”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *