JOURNEY: Infinity LP (original USA, 1st press 1978, inner with lyrics). Check videos. “Wheel in the Sky”, “Feeling That Way / Anytime”, “Lights” + audio: why this is their best album


The following rules are working:

Out of stock

SKU: YP-1697 Categories: , , , , , Tag:


Journey’s fourth album, Infinity, was released in January 1978 on the Columbia Records label.
Looking for a stronger lead vocalist, Journey got Steve Perry.
With the songs “Feeling That Way” and “Anytime”, Perry would share the vocals with former singer of the band and keyboardist Gregg Rolie.
Perry and Neal Schon penned their first song together, “Patiently”, which would appear on the new studio album. Other popular singles include “Lights” and “Wheel in the Sky”, the latter written by temporary front man Fleischman.
Journeys manager, Herbie Herbert, enlisted producer Roy Thomas Baker to engineer Infinity. This produced a layered sound approach, similar to his work with Queen, as demonstrated on tracks such as “Winds of March”. In addition, Bakers method of stacked harmonies, notable on several other albums he produced, would become trademarks of Journeys sound. Baker achieved this by having each vocalist (usually Perry and Rolie, sometimes joined by Valory and/or Schon) sing each harmony part in unison. This had the effect of making three or four voices sound like more, and is notable on the songs “Feeling that Way” and “Anytime,” which are often played consecutively on radio stations.
The addition of Perry solidified their more mainstream sound and helped Journey attain their highest chart success to date. Infinity marked the last appearance of drummer Aynsley Dunbar.
Infinity went 3x platinum in the United States and was certified gold in Canada.

This is why this is their best album:  OR  OR

Catalog number JC 34912 appears on spine and labels. Catalog number 34912 appears on back cover and inner sleeve.

Produced and mixed at His Master’s Wheels, San Francisco and Cherokee Studios, Los Angeles

© 1978 CBS Inc./℗ 1978 CBS Inc./Manufactured by Columbia Records/CBS Inc.
All lyrics © 1978 Weed High/Nightmare Music (BMI) except:
A3, B1, B3 © 1977 Weed High/Nightmare Music (BMI)

Track listing:
No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Lights” Steve Perry, Neal Schon 3:11
2. “Feeling that Way” Aynsley Dunbar, Perry, Gregg Rolie 3:28
3. “Anytime” Robert Fleischman, Rolie, Schon, Roger Silver, Ross Valory 3:28
4. “La Do Da” Perry, Schon 3:01
5. “Patiently” Perry, Schon 3:21
6. “Wheel in the Sky” Fleischman, Schon, Diane Valory 4:12
7. “Somethin’ to Hide” Perry, Schon 3:27
8. “Winds of March” N. Schon, Matt Schon, Fleischman, Perry, Rolie 5:04
9. “Can Do” Perry, Valory 2:39
10. “Opened the Door” Perry, Rolie, Schon 4:37

Neal Schon guitar (acoustic and electric), vocals, producer
Steve Perry lead vocals
Gregg Rolie keyboards, co-lead vocals, producer
Ross Valory bass, vocals, producer
Aynsley Dunbar drums and percussion, producer

Singles from Infinity
“Wheel in the Sky”
Released: 1978
“Feeling That Way / Anytime”
Released: 1978
Released: 1978

Additional information

Weight 0.25 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “JOURNEY: Infinity LP (original USA, 1st press 1978, inner with lyrics). Check videos. “Wheel in the Sky”, “Feeling That Way / Anytime”, “Lights” + audio: why this is their best album”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *