BRAND NEW SIN s.t, 1st, debut CD PROMO. Original on Now or Never Records. Stoner metal / hard rock. Black Sabbath, Blue Cheer. Check video


In stock


Brand New Sin (Now or Never Records) 2003

1. “Intro” (:27)
2. “Brand New Sin Broken Soul” (4:48)
3. “My World” (4:07)
4. “Desperate Times Desperate Means” (3:08)
5. “Sad Wings” (3:58)
6. “The Oath” (3:44)
7. “Missin You” (4:35)
8. “SPP” (3:14)
9. “Did You?” (3:51)
10. “Judgement Day” (3:25)
11. “Changes” (4:14)
12. “Shattered” (4:49)

I took a chance on these guys after reading a positive review on a metal discussion board. Glad I did! Brand New Sin write solid, catchy songs with a slight Southern tinge and would best be labelled stoner metal or just plain ‘ol hard rock. Imagine if you took the pummelling guitars of Black Label Society or Corrosion of Conformity and mixed them with Lynyrd Skynyrd and a touch of Metallica and you might come up with something similar to the Brand New Sin debut. The band somehow manage to sound current, while having a total retro-heavy metal sound. Thats not to say they sound like and Iron Maiden or Judas Priest clone. Rather, BNS have more in common with bands like Black Sabbath or Blue Cheer. Boasting a three guitarist army not unlike Skynyrd or Molly Hatchet, Brand New Sin has a powerful sound that is created by using simple, pounding guitar riffs and quality vocal hooks. Vocalist Joe Altier has a powerhouse voice that sounds like a cross between Phil Anselmo and John Bush. Heavy! Indeed! One other thing that Brand New Sin offers is something that has become taboo in many modern metal bands, guitar solos. Yes, this album is peppered with solos. “Broken Soul” has a Maiden-styled two-part harmony solo that is simple, melodic and compliments the song. While the majority of the CD is heavy, there are some more melodic moments as well. “Sad Wings” explores the Southern rock sound further, mixing in a bid ‘ol healthy dose of roaring guitar riffs. Likewise, “Missing You” is an acoustic based Southern rock song that recalls the glory days of Blackfoot and Skynyrd. The overall sound of this album is pretty raw, but it works in the bands benefit. The raw production coupled with the bands aggressive writing is a perfect combination. I can’t say enough good things about this. Take a chance on a new band and check out Brand New Sin.

5.0 out of 5 stars In your face guitars!,
I love it. Old School Metal, just the way I like it. Most people would think that having 3 guitar players would be too much, but this is simply not the case. The more I listen to this CD, the more I like it. The producers on this album did an awesome job and the sound quality is excellent!
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Has metal come back without the term “Nu” in it?,
I must say this album is the first one this year I purchased that I feel I didn’t get ripped of my money. Granted, it came out last year, but I just bought it the other day. Excellent sonds and lyrics, with (dare I say it) gutiar solos!! Yea, yea, I know..Solos nowadays aren’t supposed to be cool, which I could never figure out (god forbid one knows how to play an instrument) you have the triple threat crunch and solo shredding of Kris Wiechmann, Ken Dunham, and Slider(who also does the great harmonies on vocals you hear)..Chuck Kahl rips on bass, and the precision and thudding of galloping double kicks of drummer Mike Rafferty(he has since left).. Kevin Dean is the new drummer, and I saw these guys live, he hits everything on target as if he were a machine. Last but not least is the singer..Joe Altier. Let me put it to you this way…Take early Phil Anselmo, mix in some Scott Weiland circa “Core”, and some John Bush of Anthrax fame, and you got a guy that can push out the rage but downright sing the songs with feeling!! The album starts with an intro right into “Broken Soul”…killer first song, catchy chorus, and like I said, guitar solos….next track is “My World”…slower, kinda sad, but with a crunch..I could write a review about every song, they’re all good…check out “SSP”, “Judgement Day”, and the haunting “Sad Wings”..anyway, I’m not against Nu-Metal, its just refreshing to hear a good metal album that was made recently.
5.0 out of 5 stars RnR,
I give this 5 stars, not because it is as good as the best recording I have heard, because it delivers exactly what it means to deliver. I can give a 5* rating to a fast food joint, and 4* to a fancy restaurant, even thought the fancy one may have better food, possibly because the fast food place does what it is supposed to do, and the fancy one does not. That is the way Brand New Sin is. If you like just straight hard rock and roll, no sappy ballads, no rap rock, no 7 string guitar, no slapped bass, no baseball caps backwards, no opera style singers, no growling vocals……no gimmicks…then you will like this CD as much as I do. It is not groundbreaking or totally different from anything you have heard before, and they are not going to revolutionize the music world, but it is what it is supposed to be. If you like COC, Down, Zakk Wylde, etc, then you should check out this band.
5.0 out of 5 stars We need more southern metal!,
If I didn’t like this album I’d call Brand New Sin a bad Black Label Society. However, I did like this album. It isn’t anything new or groundbreaking, but I think its a good album to own anyway. If you like real heavy metal or southern rock with a little crunch, I think you’ll enjoy this album too. I got this album for just [price] and I’m satisfied. I’d be perfectly willing to go see them live too. Anyway, if you’re a fan of Zakk Wylde or Soil you should pick this one up.
By the way, this album will grow on you. This music just kicks …. No none of these guitar players can go toe to toe with Zakk, but this band is great anyway. Don’t listen to the people bitching about Brand New Sin. A solid effort.
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock & Roll is Not Dead!,
I caught this band with Motorhead last month and I was impressed as hell. Good hard crunching rock with solid musicians and a great singer. Their CD confirms this. I don’t know if they are the future of rock and roll but they are a hell of a positive sign. I’m tired of all the bands that think that volume and attitude are enough. These guys have something to say and they do it well.
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally… we’ve waited too long for a band like this.,
There is no way around it, this is what you’ve been waiting for. Enough with the Pearl Jam look-a-like bands! Some good old fashion ROCK! I’ve seen them play twice and they are larger than life.
5.0 out of 5 stars cant say enough…,
As i have stated before about this band,If you like southern tinged music,you will love this band.I swear when its playin you can smell stale beer and cig smoke and hear the Harleys pullin in out front of the bar!
5.0 out of 5 stars Guitar Solos!,
Its about time somebody started playing guitar solos again!!!! This CD kicks … . Its heavy, its mellow, its new, and its old. It has some great song writing and 3 GUITARS!!!!!! If you ever get a chance to see them don’t miss it. Its a show worth seeing. These guys are some of the coolest people you ever wanna meet.

5.0 out of 5 stars Chunk style crunch!,
Any band with 3 guitars has got my vote. Sure they sound like BLS – not such a bad thing!

SKU: YP-2973 Categories: , , , ,