BILLY IDOL: Whiplash Smile LP 1986. Check videos: “To Be a Lover”, “Sweet Sixteen”, “Don’t Need a Gun”


In stock


Whiplash Smile is Billy Idols third full-length album. Released in 1986, it was supported by the singles “To Be a Lover”, “Sweet Sixteen”, and “Don’t Need a Gun”. “To Be a Lover” was the biggest hit from the album, peaking at #6 in the US, with the other two singles hitting the top forty in the US and around the world


All Songs Written By Billy Idol, except where noted.
“Worlds Forgotten Boy” 5:43 (Idol/Stevens)
“To Be a Lover” 3:52 (Bell/Jones)
“Soul Standing By” 4:34
“Sweet Sixteen” 4:17
“Man for All Seasons” 4:39 (Idol/Stevens)
“Don’t Need a Gun” 6:17
“Beyond Belief” 4:02
“Fatal Charm” 3:44 (Featured in the film A Nightmare on Elm Street 4: The Dream Master) (Forsey/Idol/Stevens)
“All Summer Single” 4:36
“One Night, One Chance” 3:57 (Idol/Stevens)

Billy Idol vocals, guitar, bass guitar
Steve Stevens guitar, bass guitar, keyboards, programming
Marcus Miller bass guitar
John Regan bass guitar
Phillip Ashley keyboards
Harold Faltermeyer keyboards
David Frank keyboards
Richard Tee keyboards
Thommy Price drums, percussion
Jocelyn Brown background vocals
Connie Harvey background vocals
Janet Wright background vocals

Chart Peak position + Total weeks on chart
Austrian Albums Chart 18 14
Canadian Albums Chart 6
German Albums Chart 9
New Zealand Albums Chart 5 31
Norwegian Albums Chart 12 5
Swedish Albums Chart 4 7
Swiss Albums Chart 4 20
UK Albums Chart 8 20
US Billboard Hot 100 6 9

Certification…Country Certification Sales
United States Platinum 1,000,000
United Kingdom Gold 100,000


Additional information

Weight 0.13 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “BILLY IDOL: Whiplash Smile LP 1986. Check videos: “To Be a Lover”, “Sweet Sixteen”, “Don’t Need a Gun””

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *