ACCEPT: Balls to the Wall. [ Tape ] Check samples


In stock


Track Listings
1. Balls to the Wall
2. London Leatherboys
3. Fight It Back
4. Head Over Heels
5. Losing More Than You’ve Ever Had
6. Love Child
7. Turn Me On
8. Losers and Winners
9. Guardian of the Night
10. Winterdreams

5.0 out of 5 stars A great slab of metal.. Accept it!,

The first thing that strikes you about Accept is the music sounds so familiar and yet so fresh. I was introduced to the band following a fantastic set at Donnington in the 80’s and have loved the band since and this album is where the affair started. The riffs on offer are a lot like a cross between the anthmatic stomping chorus’ of AC/DC and toughness of Judas Priest all be it less frantic and dear I say a bit more melody. Udo’s vocals do take a bit of getting used to but he does a wonderful job and contributes so much to what makes the band unique whilst snippets of familiar classical passages during some superb guitar work leave this band as one of the most underrated i’ve ever heard. This is classic 80’s metal but could frankly impress anyone with a love for the rock/metal genre today. Accept never were a part of the ‘hair metal’ ala Poison et al, but they were savvy enough to know hooks sell records and still managed to retain their strong metallic tradition found on earlier releases.


For yours truly, Balls To The Wall represents the apex of Acceptâ™s glorious career. The production on Balls To The Wall has become somewhat of a template of sorts for how to make a heavy metal record sound accessible yet still as heavy as hell. The twin guitars blaze, the bass thumps, and the drums explode with simple ferocity. Croak throat Udo screams tales of the oppressed and persecuted from under the bridge where he lives.
Killer tracks? They are everywhere. This sack is full, my friend. Personal faves include the title track, London Leatherboys, Head Over Heals and Love Child. This one is a pant load of testicular fortitude and cracking nuts; essential to any metal collection. Went gold in the States.


Losers And Winners is also available in this compilation CD: