In stock


Black Sabbath  – Mob Rules
Label: Vertigo  – PRICE 77, Phonogram  – 6302 119
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: UK
Released: 1985
Genre: Heavy Metal

A1 Turn Up The Night
A2 Voodoo
A3 The Sign Of The Southern Cross
A4 E5150
A5 The Mob Rules

B1 Country Girl
B2 Slipping Away
B3 Falling Off The Edge Of The World
B4 Over And Over

Phonographic Copyright (p) – Phonogram International B.V.
Published By – Westminster Music Ltd.
Published By – Carlin Music Corp.

Bass – Geezer Butler
Drums – Vinnie Appice
Engineer [First Assistant] – Eddie De Lena
Engineer [Second Assistant] – Angelo Arcuri
Guitar – Tony Iommi
Keyboards – Geoff Nicholls
Lyrics By – Ronnie James Dio
Producer, Engineer – Martin Birch
Vocals – Ronnie James Dio
Written-By, Arranged By – Geezer Butler, Ronnie James Dio, Tony Iommi
Notes: Recorded at The Record Plant, L.A.

Comes with a “”Priceless”” advertising inner sleeve.
Matrix / Runout (A Side Runout): PRICE 77 A // 1 ? 420 W 1 1 1
Matrix / Runout (B Side Runout): PRICE 77 B // 1 ? 420 W 1 1 2

Playing time: 40 min.


Black Sabbath had put itself back on track both musically and commercially with the 1980 album HEAVEN AND HELL, as the addition of new vocalist Ronnie James Dio was the shot in the arm Sabbath needed. A follow-up was released one year later, MOB RULES, which follows in the same mega-decibel approach as its predecessor. While it is still a vast improvement over Sabbath final two albums with Ozzy Osbourne (1976 TECHNICAL ECSTASY and 1978 NEVER SAY DIE), it doesn’t exactly match the inspired performances and top compositions featured on HEAVEN AND HELL.
The opening track, “”Turn Up the Night,”” kicks off the album with a jolt of electricity, while other hard rocking highlights include the mid-paced “”Voodoo”” and the raging title track–the latter would be featured on the soundtrack to the cult animated movie, HEAVY METAL. Another standout was the near eight-minute epic “”The Sign of the Southern Cross,”” which starts as a gentle acoustic composition, before transforming into a classic slice of plodding Sabbath metal. Although Dio had been a major factor in returning Sabbath back from the dead, he would leave the group under less than amicable circumstances after the release of the 1982 live album LIVE EVIL.


“”Mob Rules”” is Black Sabbath´s tenth studio album, released in November 1981.
In the UK, it became the fourth Black Sabbath studio-album to attain Silver certification (60,000 units sold) by the British Phonographic Industry, achieving this in February 1982.

It was the first album to feature Vinny Appice on drums, who had replaced original member Bill Ward in the middle of the tour in support of the previous year “”Heaven an Hell””.

The cover art is a modified version of artist Greg Hildebrandt´s piece entitled “”Dream 1: Crucifiers”” from 1971, with Black Sabbath licensing its use for the cover of “”Mob Rules””. The original artwork has been augmented for the album, where not only have the band and album names been conspicuously added to the back wall, but also the hook hanging on the left side of the structure was changed to a crucifix, and the stain in the middle of the structure has been altered to resemble a devil head. Lastly, Greg Hildebrandt name has been added to the bottom center of the piece, as the original was rectangular in shape with the artist name & year in the lower left corner, thus being truncated in the album square presentation.
The lyrical themes are dark, notably on tracks such as “”The Sign of the Southern Cross”” and “”Falling Off the Edge of the World””.

E5150 and Mob Rules from this album also appear on the soundtrack to the movie Heavy Metal with a slightly different mix.

When asked via email in March 2007, Geezer Butler said the voice in E5150 said this.. “”It says “”Up The Villa”” in Latin”